Esperjenzi li jinvolvu t-trasport f'Detroit
These information pages can help you get started in learning about some of the laws and registration requirements that may apply to your experiences on Airbnb. These pages include summaries of some of the rules that may apply to different sorts of activities, and contain links to government resources that you may find helpful.
Please understand that these information pages are not comprehensive, and are not legal advice. If you are unsure about how local laws or this information may apply to you or your Experience, we encourage you to check with official sources or seek legal advice.
Please note that we don’t update this information in real time, so you should confirm that the laws or procedures have not changed recently.*
Do I need a special license or permit to drive my guests to and from my experience if I don’t charge them for the ride?
You don’t need a special license or permit to drive your guests as long as you are not charging them for the ride.
In order to drive guests without getting an extra license or permit, you:
cannot charge them for the transportation you provide (either directly or by adding the cost of transportation to your Experience Fee), and
should clearly mention in your Listing that transportation will be provided “at no charge.”
If you want to charge your guests for the ride, you need to get special licenses.
Example: Joe takes his guests on a meditative walk through the Crosswinds Marsh Park and wants to give them a free ride to/from the experience. Joe’s listing makes it clear he will pick up Guests who need a ride to get to his experience at no charge to the Guest. Joe does not need special licenses (aside from his regular driver’s license) to do this.
If I want to charge for the ride, do I need a special license or permit to drive guests to and from my experience?
Yes. If you’re charging your guests to drive them, you need a “certificate of authority” from the Michigan Department of Transportation (“MDOT”). This certificate of authority is quite costly; the application fee is $300, plus $50 per vehicle registered, and there's an annual renewal fee of $50 per certificate. In addition, among other requirements, you’ll need to:
Show proof that you have at least $1,000,000 in car insurance covering public liability and property damage;
Pass an annual vehicle inspection by a state certified mechanic; and
Get a Michigan Chauffeur’s license from the Michigan DMV (which requires passing a written license test and a $35 application fee).
More information on how to get the certificate of authority is available here. Once you file your application and meet the requirements, it usually takes about 2 to 3 weeks for MDOT to register your license.
Picking guests up at the airport: Note that a certificate of authority does not guarantee that you will be allowed to pick up guests at the airport. Many airports have restrictions on providers of transportation. Be sure to check with the airport before charging guests for airport pickup even if you have a certificate of authority.
Example: Anita wants to give her guests a ride to her experience kayaking around Turnip Rock. Anita drives a SUV that seats 6 and will charge each guest $20 for the ride. Since Anita is charging guests to drive them, she’ll need a MDOT certificate of authority.
To do so, she’ll need to buy car insurance covering $1,000,000 in public liability and property damage, get her Michigan Chauffeur’s license by passing the written test and paying her $35 application fee, and then file her certificate of authority application with MDOT along with the $350 application fee, and pass her vehicle inspection.
How else can I help my guests get to and from my experience?
How you handle your experience and your guest’s transportation needs is entirely up to you. You may choose to:
give them a ride for free,
charge them if you have the necessary licenses,
ask your Guests to get their own transportation to and from your experience, or
get them a Lyft, Uber, taxi, or other state licensed vehicle with a licensed driver. You can even pay for these licensed transportation options yourself and include the cost as part of your Experience Price.
Example: Jill wants to give her guests a ride to her dinner party in Midtown and arranges and pays for a Lyft for each of her guests. Jill chargers her guests $10 for the ride. Jill’s experience costs $150 per guest. Since Jill isn’t driving her guests, she can charge for the cost of their ride.
*Airbnb is not responsible for the reliability or correctness of the information contained in any links to third party sites (including any links to legislation and regulations).
- Organizzatur tal-EsperjenziEsperjenzi li jinkludu l-alkoħol ġewwa QueenstownGħalkemm li torganizza l-Esperjenzi ta' Airbnb hija xi ħaġa divertenti, hemm xi regoli u obbligi li għandek timxi magħhom għal attivitajiet …
- Organizzatur tal-EsperjenziEsperjenzi ta' ikel ġewwa QueenstownGħalkemm li torganizza l-Esperjenzi ta' Airbnb hija xi ħaġa divertenti, hemm xi regoli u obbligi li għandek timxi magħhom għal attivitajiet …
- X'pariri tagħti lill-organizzaturi tal-Esperjenzi jew l-Avventuri ta' Airbnb li jinvolvu kundizzjonijiet fis-silġ?Isseħibna mal-Għaqda Adventure Travel Trade biex noffru suġġerimenti u linji gwida għas-sigurtà biex ngħinuk tħejji ruħek għal Esperjenza je…